Skip to Main Content

Administration

Mission

"The Newton Community School District empowers every learner to achieve a lifetime of personal success."

District Administration

Tom Messinger

Tom Messinger
Administration - Superintendent

  messingert@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-5809

  E.J.H. Beard Administration Center

Tim Bloom

Tim Bloom
Administration - Director of Business Services

  bloomt@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-5809

  E.J.H. Beard Administration Center

Jessica Powers

Jessica Powers
Administration - Director of Special Education

  powersj@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-5809

  E.J.H. Beard Administration Center

Bret Miller

Bret Miller
Administration - Director of Teaching and Learning

  millerb@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-5809

  E.J.H. Beard Administration Center

Laura Selover

Laura Selover
Administration - Director of Human Resources

  seloverl@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-5809

  E.J.H. Beard Administration Center

Building Administration

James Gilbert

James Gilbert
Administration - Principal

  gilbertj@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-7324

  Aurora Heights Elementary

Jolene Comer

Jolene Comer
Administration - Principal

  comerj@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-3982

  Emerson Hough Elementary

Trisca Mick

Trisca Mick
Administration - Principal

  mickt@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-2498

  Thomas Jefferson Elementary

Todd Schuster

Todd Schuster
Administration - Principal

  schustert@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-7311

  Woodrow Wilson Elementary

Lisa Sharp

Lisa Sharp
Administration - Principal

  sharpl@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-7741

  Berg Middle School

William Peters

William Peters
Administration - Principal

  petersb@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-5797

  Newton High School

Tara Zehr

Tara Zehr
Administration - Principal

  zehrt@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-0335

  WEST Academy

Newton By The Numbers

185

Tree species in Newton Arboretum

1

Drive-in theater

11

Square miles of city

Whether you’re raising a family, starting a business or building a home — you’ll want to get to know Newton. Our community vision statement is “Newton Shines Bright: Newton is a progressive, family friendly community, a shining star of Central Iowa, and a place to call home.”

Community Links